08
Apr
10

The New Tourist Photo

Hello! 

I know… it’s been a while since I last posted. I had five days off for Easter so I decided to take advantage of my time and spend it outdoors instead of in front of a computer screen. I never got the chance to post yesterday either becasue I was swamped at work and I also had an essay to finish for my American Literature class.

That being said, I came across a funny blog today which is entirely devoted to one thing… face down photos…

Lynn and Michael Chealander and Amy Mihyang started this project in 2006 and since then facedown photos have been taken  in over 2 dozen countries and at least 10 American states. On their blog http://facedowns.wordpress.com/ they explain that there is no real purpose but continue to say that:

“Instead there is a focus on the locations and the relationship we all have with the quintessential ‘tourist photo.’ Don’t think about it too much though. We’ll be delighted if you’re simply amused.”

Here are some photos of their work from different places around the world.

Alaskan Way Viaduct. Seattle, USA.

Balcon de Europa. Nerja, Spain.

City Gate. Colonia Del Sacramento, Uruguay.

Montreal, Canada.

They have taken tons of these photos around the world, all of which are both scenic and amusing to look at. I think this project is great because it is unique and fun and definitely a step away from your typical smile and pose pictures. Plus, I’m sure they shock tons of tourists on a daily basis which is a bonus.

 

0 Responses to “The New Tourist Photo”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

SmileyyMoon


Take a look at what I think is worth looking at on the web - a collection of art, music, movies, web design, and whatever else catches my eye. Be pepared for the occasional ramble about my life, as well.

Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Twitter Feed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


