23
Mar
10

Bon Iver

I know, I know, I missed Music Monday… not because I forgot though. I was sick all weekend and stayed home from work yesterday so I never got around to doing it.

However,  I did decide who to shine the spotlight on and that is Bon Iver. The one man band consists of  Justin Vernon and his chilling vocals. The first song I ever heard by Bon Iver was “Skinny Love” and I’ve been a dedicated listener ever since.

When I listen to Bon Iver I always think of the story behind the recording of his first album, For Emma, Forever Ago. In short, Justin Vernon moved to Northwestern Wisconsin to spend three months of winter in a secluded cabin in the woods. His goal was to tough out the winter on his own, but never to record an album. He seldom used anything more than an old acoustic guitar and occasionally a bass drum, however, he added to the overall sound of the record by singing the majority of vocals in falsetto. The recording was done entirely by Justin Vernon himself, with nothing more than some old recording equipment and a few microphones. The result is an orchestral sound which really helps you feel his lyrics.

Maybe it’s just me, or maybe it’s because of the way it was recorded, or maybe it’s because of the name “Bon Iver” itself which in French means “good winter”, but I find that this is the perfect album to listen to on cold wintery days. Even his second solo album Blood Bank feels like a winter album to me. I know winter is almost over, but it was chilly on the weekend and I was depressed from my cold, so Bon Iver seemed like the best choice then too.

Read more of Bon Iver’s bio and listen to the rest of the album here: http://www.myspace.com/boniver

6 Responses to “Bon Iver”


  1. 1 The Plag
    March 23, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    http://www.contactmusic.com/info/bon_iver

    I think this is considered plagiarism. In case you don’t know what that is here’s the wiki.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plagiarism

    • 2 SmileyyMoon
      March 23, 2010 at 6:07 pm

      I know what plagarism is, thanks. I didn’t think I was plagarising since I tried to reword everything I used from his bio which I credited at the bottom of the post. Facts are facts, I guess I could have worded them more creatively. I made some changes though, hope it’s better now. Thanks for the comment.

  2. 3 The Plag
    March 24, 2010 at 4:10 am

    Well, I’m not an idiot and you have changed around the post since I commented to make it look less like the bio. Why don’t you just give your own opinion? What is the point of your blog?

    • 4 SmileyyMoon
      March 24, 2010 at 1:52 pm

      In my reply I said I changed things, I wasn’t trying to trick you. If you had actually looked at my blog instead of the one post, you would see that I explain it’s just a collection of stuff that I like. I work at the government and I get bored so I do this sometimes to pass the time. Most likely, you didn’t even read that one entire post because half of it IS my opinion… the other half is just me explaining who he is. Thanks again.

  3. 5 The Plag
    March 24, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    I did read other posts and it seemed as though they had little self perspective. When I read this one I read a sentence I knew I had seen before. Facts are facts, but when you use an entire descriptive sentence from somebody else’s work and only change the word ancient to the word old that’s not just stating the facts. Using all their descriptive words but putting them in different places is still plagiarism if its obvious. You could have just copy/pasted the bio into quotations. I just don’t understand if these are things you like why you need to read his bio and write a description from that. Why can’t you explain who he is from off the top of your head, completely in your own words. Anyways, it would just be more interesting that way.

  4. 6 SmileyyMoon
    March 24, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    I listen to his music, but that doesn’t mean I know his life story off the top of my head. I was just trying to give some background information. I think you are exaggerating because I did change more than one word. I do understand what you mean though, and normally I do use quotations, so thank you for your comments.


Leave a Reply

SmileyyMoon


Take a look at what I think is worth looking at on the web - a collection of art, music, movies, web design, and whatever else catches my eye. Be pepared for the occasional ramble about my life, as well.

Calendar

March 2010
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Twitter Feed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


