08
Mar
10

PRK

I’m sitting in a dark room with my boyfriend who has just undergone PRK (photorefractive keraectomy) surgery. I thought Lasik was nauseating enough but with this surgery instead of making a flap out of the first layer of your eye and working beneath it, they remove the whole thing. My boyfriend described the process as an “oral b  toothbrush coming towards my eye and scraping at it”. Barf.

I’ve been with him the last two full days administering his drops and pills. I even created a chart to record his medication intake and stayed until 5 am this morning to make sure he took everything on time. I think I should definitely be able to put “nursing experience” on my resume.

Following the surgery patients must stay indoors and out of direct sunlight. They also can’t watch TV or go on the computer for 48 hours. However, my boyfriend Corey was most upset about not being able to play Xbox. They also have to wear sunglasses outside, no matter what the weather is, for 6 months.

Considering how terrible Corey’s eyesight was before, the surgery will definitely be worth it in the end, but it’s not an easy ride… especially if you’re the patients girlfriend.


0 Responses to “PRK”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


SmileyyMoon


Take a look at what I think is worth looking at on the web - a collection of art, music, movies, web design, and whatever else catches my eye. Be pepared for the occasional ramble about my life, as well.

Calendar

March 2010
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other subscriber